Dutch angle

I learnt about “dutch angle” by taking a picture of one without knowing it. So I got an assignement from Dave and later I figured out that it is a technique used in cinema and photography to emphasise dramatic effects, tension or psychological uneasiness in the subject being filmed. It is an interesting technique but not so easy to justify. Personally, I haven’t tried it with portraits and don’t really feel like, but with moving objects like trains, cars or cargos and architecture it can work pretty well. Recently we’ve watched a movie that I like a lot “Girl on the bridge” by Patrice Leconte and I remember the  moment when the train rushes out of the tunnel and it was filmed at a dutch angle. It was a perfect example for me.

2 thoughts on “Dutch angle

Leave a Reply

